Blues Awards to Norwegian musicians

Congratulations to Norwegian musicians Christoffer "Kid" Andersen and Alexander Pettersen. Together with the band Rick Estrin & The Nightcats, they received Blues Music Awards for "Band of the Year" during the celebrations in Memphis on May 10. It is very rare that Norwegian or European artists are honored with these prizes , so the news will be noticed in blues circuits all over the world. The image: The Nightcats with Jerry Jemmott '.

The popular Californian band - now with two Norwegian members - received three prizes. In addition to the Band of the Year, Rick Estrin received the award for «Best Traditional Blues Male Artist", and his song "The Blues Is not Going Nowhere" became «Song of the Year».

Also the duo Taj Mahal and Keb 'Mo' has a good reason to celebrate. Their collaborative project and release under the name TajMo, released in May 2017, were awarded the "Album of the Year" and "Best Contemporary Blues Album" prizes. Taj Mahal also received the prices "B.B. King Entertainer of the Year "and" Best Acoustic Artist ", while Keb 'Mo' was voted «Best Contemporary Blues Male Artist».

Text: Rune Endal

Norwegian award winner Alexander Pettersen with bass legend Jerry Jemmott.

The complete list:

Acoustic Album: Break the Chain – Doug MacLeod
Acoustic Artist: Taj Mahal
Album: TajMo – Taj Mahal & Keb’ Mo’
B.B. King Entertainer: Taj Mahal
Band: Rick Estrin & the Nightcats
Best Emerging Artist Album: Southern Avenue – Southern Avenue
Contemporary Blues Album: TajMo – Taj Mahal & Keb’ Mo’
Contemporary Blues Female Artist: Samantha Fish
Contemporary Blues Male Artist: Keb’ Mo’
Historical: A Legend Never Dies, Essential Recordings 1976-1997 – Luther Allison (Ruf Recordings)
Instrumentalist-Vocalist: Beth Hart
Instrumentalist-Bass: Michael “Mudcat” Ward
Instrumentalist-Drums: Tony Braunagel
Instrumentalist-Guitar: Ronnie Earl
Instrumentalist-Harmonica: Jason Ricci
Instrumentalist-Horn: Trombone Shorty
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player (Instrumentalist – Piano): Victor Wainwright
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female): Ruthie Foster
Rock Blues Album: We’re All In This Together – Walter Trout
Rock Blues Artist: Mike Zito
Song: “The Blues Ain’t Going Nowhere” written by Rick Estrin and performed by Rick Estrin
Soul Blues Album: Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm – Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm
Soul Blues Female Artist: Mavis Staples
Soul Blues Male Artist: Curtis Salgado
Traditional Blues Album: Right Place, Right Time – Mike Welch and Mike Ledbetter
Traditional Blues Male Artist: Rick Estrin